WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca played host to a hard fought season finale as the NTT IndyCar Series crowned a new champion. The hopes were high for Andretti Autosport to come home with another Astor Cup, but it wasn’t in the cards today for the No. 27 team — the NAPA crew and Alexander Rossi fought hard and finished ahead of championship rival Josef Newgarden, but came away from the 2019 season third in the standings. Newgarden was crowed with the championship honors.

The big mover of the day was DHL driver Ryan Hunter-Reay, who drove his way through half the field to finish 10th after a pit issue left the 28 in last position. Along with Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti made big moves early in the race, gaining 10 position in the first stint. A fueling issue ultimately forced the 98 team to deviate from strategy and give up some of the hard earned positions.

Zach Veach made contact with the 21 car of Spencer Pigot, forcing him to recover off the track surface of Turn 2 on Lap 54. Then, just after the incident in Turn 2, the sophomore driver was again forced off the track in the Corkscrew losing a total of seven positions in one lap. Veach came home 18th.

Returning to the Andretti stable for the season finale, Conor Daly drove a steady race in the USAF machine until spinning on Lap 44. The spin brought out the first and only yellow of the 90-lap event, leaving the No. 25 one lap down with a 22nd-place result.